Tags

, , , , ,

Forgive the lack of posts. It’s summer vacation for my all of my lovely ladies and our days have been filled with swimming, biking, reading, many play dates and just having fun. Since autumn is just around the corner I decided to start finding a little time to dust off my hooks. Last week I made a couple of pumpkin hats (one for my littlest, but ever growing punkin, and one for a good friend’s new baby).

Next up on my infinite project wish list list are shrugs for my ladies to match their back-to-school dresses. I made a set for my twin daughters years ago and forgot all about this pattern until I recently ran across this modified version on Ravelry. I still love the original (found here) too.

shrugs

I am new at sharing patterns, if you catch a mistake please let me know.

Shrug/Cardigan (in orange, as modified by me)

  • hook size: I hook (aka 5.5mm or #9)
  • yarn used: Caron Simply Soft, dk country blue and Vanna’s Choice, terracotta
  • yarn needle
  • a favorite button
  • stitch markers (optional)
  • finished size: children’s 7/8
  • abbreviations & stitches used: ch= chain, dc= double crochet, sl st = slip stitch, hdc= half double crochet, RS= right side, dc3tog= double crochet two together

For the blue cardi shown, I followed the modifications listed on the Ravelry pattern found here.

For the orange cardi shown, I used the similar modifications as the blue shrug but did a row of daisies/star stitch in lieu of the ribbon row. A great tutorial on the star stitch can be found here. YouTube Full Star Stitch p1 | YouTube Full Star Stitch p2

ch 89.
row 1: dc in 3rd ch from hook, dc across, turn.
row 2: ch 3, dc across, turn.
rows 3-6: repeat row 2.
row 7: ch 3, full star stitch across, ending with 1 hdc in last st
row 8: ch 2, 2 hdc in each eyelet of each star stitch from the previous row.
yoke/sleeves
drop loop from hook, but do not fasten off.
from RS join yarn with sl st in 17th st from hook, ch 28, attach with sl st to 25th st, fasten off. Join yarn with sl st in 63rd st, ch 28, attach with sl st to 71 st, fasten off.
row 9: pick up dropped loop from row 8. turn, ch 3, dc across, turn.
row 10: ch 3, dc across, turn.
row 11: ch 3, dc for 9 sts, dc2tog, *dc for 11 sts, dc2tog*, repeat from * to *, dc in remaining sts, turn. (you may want to use stitch markers to make your decreases more visible)
rows 12-16: ch 2, dc across, dc2tog at every dec from previous row, turn.
row 17: ch 1, sc across collar, fasten off.
Finishing: From RS, join yarn with sl st in lower right front corner.
Row 1: Sl st evenly up right front, around neck, and down left front. Fasten off. Weave in ends.
shrug
