Tags

, , ,

I love making hats and am even happier when I find new patterns with an interesting use of stitches. I came across this pattern on Pinterest. It’s called Perenni and can be found here on Ravelry (a great source for crochet & knit patterns).

flower hat

I modified the pattern slightly to have more contrasting rows of flowers and have listed my changes below. Make sure to follow the pattern instructions for how to customize the size of this hat.

  • hook size: I (aka 5.50mm or #9) and H (aka 5.00mm or #8)
  • yarn used: Bernat Super Value, granite & plum heather and Caron Simply Soft, soft blue
  • Part I Crown: I hook with main color (granite)
  • Part II The Body: I hook still with main color (granite), I only worked round 1 in this section to allow for more rows of the contrasting flowers.
  • Part III Flower Pattern: switch to H hook as the flower portion of the pattern tends to be larger & stretchier.  Switch to contrasting color on round 2. Repeat round 2 and 3 for each row of flowers.
  • Part IV Edging: I hook, back to main color (granite)

UPDATE:

flower hatI have been loving this pattern so much I just finished making two more hats. Now all of my little ladies are staying warm in style.

